Texans finish second, Lady Texans third at NMHU Jamboree

Texans finish second, Lady Texans third at NMHU Jamboree
LAS VEGAS, N.M. – Led by a second place finish by freshmanJose Martinez, the South Plains College Texan cross country team finished second in the team standings with 41 points at the New Mexico Highlands Jamboree Saturday at the Gene Torres Golf Course. 

Martinez completed the 8,000-meter course with a season best time of 25 minutes, 22.80 seconds to lead four Texan runners finishing inside the top-10.

Antibahs Kibiwott, who was the top Texan runner in SPC's first two meets, finished seventh in 25:56.58 and was followed byColton Hollis (26:08.45) in ninth and Cordaryl Whitehead(26:11.92) in tenth. 

Isaac Clark (27:23.5) rounded out the scoring for the Texans with a 17th place finish. 

Freshman J'Cee Holmes led the Lady Texans for the second time in as many meets, completing the women's 5,000-meter course in a season best time of 19:45.32 and finishing 10th overall. 

Sophomore Desreen Montague (19:50.66) was the 15th athlete to cross the line while Atara Segree (20:27.10) snuck inside the top-20. 

Kaitlyn Henderson (20:50.55) and Brittany Letts (21:06.42) rounded out the team with 24thand 29th place finishes. 

The Lady Texans finished the day third in the team standings with 93 points. 

Next up for the Texans and Lady Texans is the SPC Cross Country Invitational scheduled for Saturday, Oct. 5.  The meet will feature junior high and high school races beginning at 8:15 a.m.  The SPC women will toe the line at 11 a.m. for the women's 5,000-meter run and the Texans will take to the 8,000-meter course at 11:30 a.m.


Lady Texan results

10th     J'Cee Holmes              19:45.32

15th     Desreen Montague   19:50.66

20th     Atara Segree              20:27.10

24th     Kaitlyn Henderson    20:50.55

29th     Brittany Letts             21:06.42

33rd     Mariah Martinez       21:48.29

35th     Madison Kauffman   21:55.69


Texan Results

2nd       Jose Martinez             25:22.80

7th       Antibahs Kibiwott     25:56.58

9th       Colton Hollis               26:08.45

10th     Cordaryl Whitehead 26:11.92

17th     Isaac Clark                 27:23.50

23rd     Marco Arias                28:01.77

26th     Jacob Clark                 28:11.95

28th     Michael Waller          28:37.35

35th     Anderson Charles     30:09.19