Texans Win Team Title at NMJC

HOBBS, N.M. - The South Plains College men's cross country team had seven runners place in the top eight as the Texans easily won the team championship at the Bob Jackson Invitational hosted by New Mexico Junior College Saturday.

The SPC men finished first with 20 points, while Dine College was second with 51 and Lubbock Christian was third with 71.

South Plains freshman Tallam Kipruto finished second in the 8K race with a time of 25:59.39. Also for SPC, Fred Samoei was third (26:08.34), Anthony Pequeno was fourth (27:29.81), Javier Perez was fifth (27:45.44), Cole Hoffman was sixth (28:52.78), Mitchell Driver was seventh (28:55.68), Robert Castanon was eighth (29:00.77), Blake Rothbard was 13th (29:52.14) and Derek Brest was 18th (30:56.56).

In the women's 5K race, SPC sophomore Gladys Chumba placed first with a time of 19:56.12. Also for South Plains, Meagan Willingham was sixth (21:12.35), Shayla Contreras was seventh (21:13.30) and Lorianne Pattee was 11th (22:00.16). The Lady Texans weren't eligible for the team championship because they only had four runners.

Both the SPC men and women are scheduled to run at the Red Raider Jackrabbitt Open Friday in Lubbock.