Reis named WJCAC MVP, four Lady Texans earn All-Conference recognition

Reis named WJCAC MVP, four Lady Texans earn All-Conference recognition

LEVELLAND — Finishing the regular season with a record of 19-3, including a 13-2 mark in the Western Junior College Athletic Conference, the South Plains College women's basketball team landed four players on the WJCAC All-Conference team.

In his first year in Levelland, Lady Texan head coach Ara Baten was tabbed as the WJCAC Coach of the Year after leading the Lady Texans to the WJCAC title, the WJCAC Tournament title, and captured the Region V Championship with a 74-72 win over Weatherford College.

South Plains is led by freshman Debora Reis, who named the Most Valuable Player in the WJCAC as well as the Freshman Player of the Year. Reis leads the team in scoring with 14 points per game, recording 19 double-doubles this season and ranks fifth in the country with 285 total rebounds. The 6-foot forward from Brazil is shooting 58.3 percent from the field on the year and averages 13 rebounds per game, the fourth-best mark in the NJCAA

Sophomore Grace Hunter earned All-Conference honors in her second year with the Lady Texans, averaging 9.2 points, 3.6 rebounds, and 3.5 boards per game, shooting 36.9 percent from the floor this season. Hunter has scored in double figures 10 times this season, including a 14-point outing on Feb. 11 in the Lady Texans' 66-53 win over Western Texas College.

Jordan Brown was tabbed as an All-Conference selection, as the 5-foot-9 guard from New Jersey averaged 9.6 points per game. Brown is shooting 42.2 percent from the field this season, scoring in double figures 12 times on the year, most notably, a 17 point outing on March 1 in the Lady Texans' 84-52 win over Frank Phillips College.

Sophomore Viktoria Ivanova, a 5-10 guard from Bulgaria was named All-Conference honorable mention, averaging 8.6 points per game on the year. Ivanova, who is shooting 41.3 percent from the floor this season, was crucial in helping the Lady Texans bring home the Region V title, scoring a season-high 21 points in the championship game, including the game-winning bucket at the buzzer as the Lady Texans took down Weatherford College 74-72.  



Conference Champion  ---  South Plains College

Coach of the Year  ---  Ara Baten – South Plains College

MVP  ---  Debora Reis  ---  South Plains College


Zariah Sango           Clarendon College

Mariam Traore         Clarendon College

Aileen Marquez       Clarendon College

Alexys Grice            Frank Phillips College

Tatym Barnes          Howard College

Nya Lok                   Midland College

Dana Thompson      Midland College

Grace Hunter           South Plains College

Jordan Brown          South Plains College

Clarrissa Francis      Western Texas College

Shuntorri Rodgers    Western Texas College



Debora Reis  ---  South Plains College



Zariah Sango  ---  Clarendon College



Zariah Sango  ---  Clarendon College



Emilia Axelsson       Clarendon College

Canton Moreno        Frank Phillips College

Aubry Johnson         Frank Phillips College

Kamry Perez            Frank Phillips College

Kayla Massop           Howard College

Bella Green              Midland College

Brooke Galvin           Midland College

Viktoria Ivanova       South Plains College

Carrie Lacy               Western Texas College