Texans News
07.28.2011 - [Track and Field]
Bartholomew taking Wariner to the line in New York
Bartholomew taking Wariner to the line in New York

Printable format       Meet Website

STOCKHOLM, Sweden - Former Texan track and field star Rondell Bartholomew will race for the first time Friday since taking Olympic Gold Medalist and multiple World Champion Jeremy Wariner to the line in the 400 meter dash at the Adidas Grand Prix in New York on June 11.

On Friday, Bartholomew will face a new challenge when he toes the line against 2008 Olympic 400 meter Gold medalist LaShawn Merritt. Merritt, who boasts a personal best time of 43.75 seconds in the one-lap event, is running for the first time since 2009. Also in Friday's race is Jamaican Jermaine Gonzales who also edged Bartholomew at the line for second place in New York, as well as former SPC star and training partner Renny Quow. Quow has a World Championship Bronze medal after taking third at the 2009 World Championships.

Bartholomew's season and personal best of 44.65 seconds run in April still currently stands as the fastest in 2011.

Race time is scheduled for 1:03 p.m. (CST) and 8:03 p.m. in Stockholm.

Another athlete with SPC ties running tomorrow is Sally Kipyego. Kipyego won numerous NJCAA championships during her time at SPC from 2004-2006 and currently is the ninth fastest athlete over 5,000 meters in 2011. She will face a stacked field at 2:25 p.m. (CST) and 9:25 p.m. local time in Stockholm. Kipyego recently qualified for her first World Championship team in the event with her native Kenya.

For more information on the upcoming Diamond League meet, please visit the DN Galan meet website by clicking here.