Texans News
04.27.2011 - [Texans]
Ramsey & Morris enter the Texan Hall of Fame
Ramsey & Morris enter the Texan Hall of Fame
LEVELLAND, Texas - The South Plains College athletic department hosted their annual sports award picnic Tuesday evening at the Texan Dome to honor and recognize student-athletes for their hard work on the field and in the classroom throughout this year. 31 awards were given in all with the Glen C. Jones and Kathleen Truelock Memorial awards for Academic Excellence being the final presentation for SPC athletes.

The Glen C. Jones and Kathleen Truelock awards are earned by achieving the highest grade point average in each sport.

Nick Diatta (Texan basketball), Ben Ramey (rodeo), and Anton Kokorin (Texan track) were each finalists for the Glen C. Jones Award while Lisa Forsberg (Lady Texan track), Carley Richardson (rodeo), Robin Daniel (cheerleading), and Kelsey Canavan (Lady Texan basketball) were each awarded a plaque for earning the highest GPA in their sport.

Kokorin and Canavan edged out the rest of their teammates for the highest grade point averages among all the athletes.

Former coaches of South Plains College were honored as well with James Morris and Clint Ramsey each being inducted into the Texan Hall of Fame. Morris and Ramsey were presented with a personalized lamp with their name engraved.

Both were longtime coaches for the Texans and Lady Texans with Ramsey serving as head track coach from 1969-1982 while Morris took over the track and field post in 1983 and worked in that capacity until 2002. Additionally, Ramsey served as athletic director from 1980-1982. Both coached numerous all-Americans, and Olympians while helping to shape the lives of South Plains College student-athletes.

To see a complete list of awards earned during the program please visit www.spctexans.com.